• Title

  • South Tampa Chamber of Commerce Announces Award Winners and Installs 2016-17 Board

    • Share:
    February 05, 2016


    South Tampa Chamber of Commerce Announces Award Winners and Installs 2016-17 Board of Directors


    TAMPA, FL  - The South Tampa Chamber of Commerce hosted a 90th Anniversary Celebration on February 3, 2016 to announce their 2016 Business of the Year Winners and install the new Board of Directors. The event was sponsored by Bright House Business Solutions and the Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority.

    Bill Yanger, of Yanger Law Group P.A. was installed as the 2016-17 Chairman of the Board. The new Executive Committee includes Mike Jenkins, CALDECO Air Conditioning & Heating, as Chair-Elect; Dan Kelly, Winn Dixie, as Treasurer; Ed Siler, Troy University, as Secretary; Samantha Dammer, Tampa Law Advocates P.A.,  as Immediate Past Chair; David Hoffman, Hoffman Law Firm P.A., as Consulting Attorney; Julie McAdoo, Refresh Your Nest Cleaning Services and Penny Rogo, MamaRazzi foto. Board Members include Hillsborough County Commissioner Sandy Murman, Tampa City Councilman Harry Cohen, Dennis Sheaffer, Bright House Business Solutions; Connie Gage, The Toni Everett Company; David Steinberg, Payscape; Kathie Miley, C1 Bank; Wayne Heiser, American Marketing and Mailing Services; Debra Palmer, Palmer Home and Business Inventory Services; Steve Martaus, Early Childhood Council of Hillsborough County and SSgt Brittney Liddon, MacDill Air Force Base.


    Photo: 2016 Board of Directors

    “This Chamber’s 550 plus members are on the front lines of Tampa’s remarkable resurgence and we account for much of our city’s now-famous “swagger”. I am thrilled to spend 2016 side-by-side with these engaged, creative and thriving businesses in helping to create new leadership and growth opportunities for themselves, their customers and our community.” said Yanger. 

    Chamber members and businesses were also recognized during an awards ceremony following the board installation. After recounting some of the Chamber’s achievements from the past year including adding 200 new members, increasing staff and producing several sold out events, Kelly Flannery, the Chamber’s president and CEO, said, “I am often asked how we accomplish so much with such a small staff. My answer is always the same, one of our greatest strengths as an organization is the dedication of our members and volunteers.”

    Photo: Citizen of the Year Dr Ronald Vaughn

    2016 Award Winners:
    Citizen of the Year: Dr. Ronald Vaughn, University of Tampa
    Member of the Year: Wayne Heiser, American Marketing and Mailing Services
    Volunteer of the Year: Wayne Heiser, American Marketing and Mailing Services
    Ambassador of the Year: David Steinberg, Payscape
    Business of the Year, Emerging Category: Beryl Project Engineering
    Business of the Year, Small Category: About You Mastectomy Boutique
    Business of the Year, Medium Category: Continental Wholesale Diamonds
    Business of the Year, Large Category: Chameleon Custom Solutions

    Photo: 2016 Business of the Year Award Winners

    About the South Tampa Chamber of Commerce: Established in 1926, the South Tampa Chamber of Commerce is an association of more than 550 businesses, organizations and individuals. The chamber has strived to make the South Tampa community a better place in which to live, work, and play. Its active membership consists of local businesses, professionals, non-profits and government representatives who enjoy social activities and community involvement. In 2014 the South Tampa Chamber was voted the #1 Favorite Chamber by the readers of the Tampa Bay Business Journal. www.SouthTampaChamber.org  

    Kelly Flannery, President & CEO
    (813) 637-0156